• Vision
    • Activities
    • Methods
    • Contacts
    • Photos
    • Links

 • Lamp  • Food
 • Communications  • Greenhouse
 • Hall  • Admin
 • Wildlife  • Other
 • Beach  • Development
 • Roads  • Documents
 • current
 • 2006
 • 2005
 • 2004
 • 2003
 • 2002
 • 2001

 • DP Numbers
 • Contours
 • Flooding
 • Lot Lines

 • Website
 • Councillors
 • Complaint Form

 • Search

To preserve and enhance the cultural environmental and social sustainability of the Tyagarah Area and its inhabitants

« Membership reminder | Main | Noise: Class action suit being considered »

October 6, 2002

Noise: Letter to Bayside Brunswick residents

Debbie has put together a letter for Brunswick residents, with suggestions to
write to politicians and the RTA.


“Twenty one percent of Australians describe themselves as being personally affected by noise pollution – more than for water, air or waste pollution. Of all the sources of environmental noise, the most important was road traffic noise, with 17% of the population describing it as the noise they would most like to get rid of.” (1999 EPA ‘Environmental criteria for road traffic noise’) Are you sick of the increase in noise that the new Tandy’s Lane Upgrade has resulted in?

In 1997, when the RTA was canvassing this upgrade they assured us that we would be getting the ‘new’ road surface and that tyre noise would be lessened. Instead, the random grooved concrete surface that has been put on this upgrade has increased the noise by 4.5db, a sound intensity 180% higher, or 2.8 times that of open graded bitumen (OGA). The Environmental Protection Authority states that when upgrading an existing road, the aim is not increase noise by anymore than 2db. A 4.5db increase involves a very large increase in sound intensity. Pavement type is a key issue in the level and nature of noise generated by traffic, tyre/road interaction represents the primary source of noise for all constant speeds in excess of around 40 to 60 km/h. The spectral energy evidenced in the concrete pavement spectra is greatest in the frequency range where human auditory response is the most acute. In 1992 the Minister for Roads in England announced new measures to combat the problem of road traffic noise, the most significant of which was to cease using concrete on main roads.

To make matters worse since the opening of the Yelgun to Chinderah By-pass, we are now subjected to a 30% increase in heavy traffic (Byron Shire Echo, October 1 2002, p.3) with B-doubles day and night and their increased engine capacity and tyre noise.

To use this pavement and then to misrepresent the end result, as being a quieter surface is a gross disregard for people’s intelligence, quality of life and amenity.

You can also join the Noise Action Group (NAG) by emailing noisebuster@optusnet.com.au and you will be kept informed by email of our activities or you can leave your name address and phone number at Tyagarah Service Station and we will contact you.

There are many others in Australia and around the world who have the same problems that we do and by having as many people as possible pestering them and making it known that we will not be mislead this way we may be able to make a difference.

If you are sick of this noise and would like to help lobby to get the road resurfaced there are things that you can do. Write letters to these people expressing your dissatisfaction;

Carl Scully, Minister of Transport NSW.

Level 36 Governor Macquarie Tower

1 Farrer Place
Sydney NSW 2000

Phone: (02) 9228 4455
Fax: (02) 9228 4633

Email: carl.scully@transport.minister.nsw.gov.au

Peter Debnam, Shadow Minister of Transport NSW.

Governor Macquarie Tower

1 Farrer Place

Sydney NSW 2000

Bob Carr, Premier NSW
Level 40 Governor Macquarie Tower
1 Farrer Place

Sydney NSW 2000

Phone: (02) 9228 5239

Fax: (02) 9228 3935

Email: bob.carr@www.nsw.gov.au

Don Page Member for Ballina NSW State Government

PO Box 1018
Ballina NSW 2478

Phone: (02) 6686 7522
Fax: (02) 6686 7470
Email: ballina@parliament.nsw.gov.au

John Anderson, Federal Minister for Transport

House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6277 7680
Fax: (02) 6273 4126

Email: John.Anderson.MP@aph.gov.au

Martin Ferguson, Federal Shadow Minister for Transport.

House of Representatives

Parliament House

Canberra. ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6277 4899

Fax: (02)62778403

Email: M.Ferguson.MP@aph.gov.au

John Howard, Prime Minister

House of Representatives

Parliament House

Canberra. ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6277 7700

Fax: (02) 6273 4100

Larry Anthony, Federal Member for Richmond

House of Representatives

Parliament House

Canberra. ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6277 7240

Fax: (02) 6273 4152

Email: Larry.Anthony.MP@aph.gov.au

RTA – Representatives;

Bob Higgins, Pacific Highway Manager

P.O. Box 546

Grafton NSW 2460

Tel: (02) 6640 1305

Fax: (02) 6640 1001

Email: Bob_Higgins@rta.nsw.gov.au

Bob Cairns, Project Manager, Tandys Lane Upgrade

P.P. Box 576

Grafton NSW 2460

Tel: (02) 6640 1012

Fax: (02) 6640 1301

Free call: 1800 653 092

Email: Bob_Cairns@rta.nsw.gov.au

Ian Cohen MLA, NSW State Government

Parliament House
Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000

Phone: (02) 9230 2603
Fax: (02) 9230 2267
Email: ccohen@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Posted at October 6, 2002 12:00 AM

Trackback Pings

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Post a comment

Thanks for signing in, . Now you can comment. (sign out)

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

Remember me?




Site Credits:

Website Design by DiamondClear Technologies

Website Coding by Mitra Internet Consulting

Website Photography by Dianne Trussell